Exploring the Pros and Cons of a Career Break

Cheska Picache
7 min readJul 13, 2023

--

At Shibuya Crossing, during my trip to Tokyo (Photo by Kenji — @kenji.image on Instagram)

The thought of taking a career break can be daunting. It involves careful consideration of various factors: should I take a break or switch jobs? Do I have sufficient funds to sustain the break? How might it impact future job prospects?

These were the questions that consumed my thoughts for over a year before I finally decided to take career break four months ago. I wanted to study and work abroad in 2020, but the pandemic disrupted those plans. With restrictions lifted, I figured it was a good time to revisit my aspirations.

As moving abroad is a huge life decision, I wanted to take time for self-reflection and discern whether pursuing a master’s degree in Germany would be more fit for my career goals or if finding immediate employment there, irrespective of professional level, was a better choice. Ultimately, I opted for a career break, during which I applied for schools, rested well, traveled, and explored neglected hobbies and interests.

Beyond the obvious advantages and disadvantages of taking a career break, such as physical rest and loss of income, I compiled a list of additional pros and cons based on my personal experience. Reflecting on these can help you in making an informed decision.

Pros of Taking a Career Break:

1. Self-Reflection and Clarity

Having pursued a business course in college, I immediately joined the corporate world after graduation and spent the next five years fully immersed in my professional life. While this was a safe and gratifying path, I had to ask myself:

“Is this truly what I want to be doing? Do I genuinely want to move abroad, or am I just tired of working here in the Philippines?”

During my break, I reevaluated the career path I chose at the age of 17 and explored various fields, such as UI/UX design, illustration, writing, and psychology. While doing some small projects related to these, I realized that while they were fun to do, I probably would not do them full-time.

However, I did discover a newfound interest in fashion when I started a passion project with my mom, creating ready-to-wear garments from surplus couture fabrics. This venture struck the perfect balance between business and creativity, and I thoroughly enjoyed picking pretty fabrics and designing clothes. Such an endeavor would have been impossible while I was still employed, given its time-consuming and operationally demanding nature.

Mom and me posing in our Cachet Collection kimonos (Photo by Mico Ongkeko)

2. Improved Mental Health

Working at a startup for several years took a toll on my physical and mental health, as anyone familiar with the industry can attest. I genuinely loved my job, constantly learning and exploring new avenues, which thrilled me. However, it demanded so much energy and time, leaving me with little rest or headspace left to do the things I liked doing for fun.

During my break, I caught up on much-needed sleep, compensating for years of sleep deprivation. I satisfied my inner child by drawing to my heart’s content and going on long walks, stopping for whatever small beautiful thing caught my attention. I no longer had impending-deadline anxiety or Sunday evening jitters.

With reduced stress levels, I found it easier to make pragmatic decisions instead of fight-or-flight responses. Being well-rested enabled me to choose a program that aligned with my long-term career goals rather than impulsively diving into whatever piqued my interest at the time.

Clear waters for a clear mind at Guyam Island, Surigao del Norte (Photo by author)

3. Embracing Life Outside of Work

Given that a huge portion of our adult lives is devoted to work, it is easy to forget that there is more to life than a successful career and financial stability. I discovered that a significant source of my work-related anxiety stemmed from closely intertwining my identity with my profession. If I failed to excel at work, I felt like a failure as a person.

Unemployment provided me with an opportunity to detach myself from this career-driven identity (although this proved to be a challenging journey, as I will discuss in the Cons section) and enjoy the simple pleasures of life. I booked a photoshoot with an Airbnb photographer in Tokyo, learned to cook Thai food in Bangkok, surfed the best waves in Siargao, and indulged in weekday brunches with friends. I reconnected with old acquaintances and forged new friendships, while also spending quality time with my family. It allowed me to experience the essence of being human.

Cons of Taking a Career Break:

1. Saving vs. Investing in Experiences

The most prominent and obvious downside of unemployment is the lack of income. Before taking my break, I ensured that I had saved enough to sustain myself for at least six months, with additional funds allocated for travel and hobbies. Even prior to this decision, I’ve been living frugally, bringing homemade meals to work and earning extra income through side hustles, as I knew I wanted to move abroad.

Despite this, I was still often anxious about my finances. During a career break, it’s a constant battle between “I only have money going out now and none coming in, so I need to be careful” and “I’ve been working so hard the past years and I won’t get to enjoy this freedom and flexibility when I start working again.”

I sided with the latter more often, as long as I would be spending my money on something that was either character-building or relationship-building. Hence, I ended up traveling a LOT, recognizing that this was a unique opportunity to explore the world without the constraints of limited vacation days or peak-season prices. I regret none of these expenses.

It is vital though to distinguish between mindless spending and investing in enriching experiences. This holds true even beyond the scope of a career break.

I spent quite a sum on gachapon (capsule toys) and crane games, but every cent was worth it! The thrill and joy I got from these were priceless (Photo by author)

2. Self-Doubt and Identity Crisis

Over the past four months, I hated answering the question, “What do you do?”

As someone with a highly career-dependent self-image, I was always conscious about being perceived as aimless or idle because I didn’t have a job. I never knew what good thing to say other than, “I’m planning to study again later this year.”

The uncertainty of not knowing who or what I was or would be was nerve-racking. This peaked while waiting for results of my master’s applications, unsure if any of the schools I applied to would accept me. I worried that if I didn’t get accepted into any school, I’d have a hard time finding employment in a fiercely competitive job market.

Eventually, I did get accepted into a school (with a scholarship too), and all my worrying was unnecessary. I could have spared myself some misery if I hadn’t doubted my abilities so much. In retrospect, if I didn’t get into the schools I wanted, I would have found a way to get a job anyway.

3. The Burden of Choice

All this newfound freedom presents an often-overlooked problem: there is so much we can do, that we end up doing nothing.

When life becomes a blank canvas, the number of choices can be overwhelming. I wanted to do so many things: create webcomics, start a vlog, learn six new languages, volunteer at a public elementary school, and many more. I ended up not pushing through with most of them.

It’s easy to fall into the illusion of having boundless time to accomplish everything we want, but at the end of the day, we have finite resources such as energy and financial means. Sometimes, just deciding on what choices to make takes up so much energy that we become slaves to indecision; if we don’t choose anything, the universe chooses for us. Despite being unemployed, trying to do everything, everywhere, all at once drains me, and I end up just lying on my bed for days at a time.

It takes real discipline and self-reflection to choose how to spend your time during a career break.

Sometimes, when there’s so much I want to do, I end up doing nothing… just like Snorlax on the sofa (Photo by author)

Conclusion

Career breaks have their pros and cons, but the benefits outweighed the disadvantages for me because I was able to get the physical and mental rest I needed to make the big life decision of moving to Germany for my master’s degree. I acknowledge that I also do come from a place of privilege that makes this decision work for me, as I don’t need to provide for anyone other than myself, and my family has been completely supportive of my break.

If you are considering a career break, I encourage you to carefully weigh the pros and cons with the context of your individual goals, preferences, and circumstances. Remember that there are also alternatives to full career breaks such as sabbaticals, LOAs (Leaves of Absence), part-time work, and compromises with your employer.

Ultimately, the most crucial factor is to make decisions that align with your personal and professional aspirations. Embrace adaptability, stay open to new opportunities, and live with no regrets.

Good luck on your journey!

--

--

Cheska Picache

A Filipino Master in Management student based in Germany, constantly learning business, reflecting on life, and trying to be a better human.